300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cop or Not?

I'm not real certain where this should be posted, so I figured here was about the best place.

My question is this:
    Am I a cop or am I not?

Now I'll explain. I'm a reserve officer. I had to pass all the POST tests, I had to go through an academy, I have full police powers when on duty...yet I can't carry off-duty.

Now I've never worked for a military reserve or anything like that, so maybe you guys have some insite that I don't.

What happens if I'm standing in line and some SOB pulls a gun on the cashier?

My department is all for me going through a K-9 program...the thing is its on my own penny, I have to get the dog and get it trained...anyone looked into this? They aren't cheap. Well I'm willing to do that because I'll also be using the dog for the company that I work for. Ok so that'd be beneficial to all parties involved. I can deal with that. But when I am recognized off duty, out of uniform...what then? It's already happened though it was a friendly encounter.

Should I get a private citizens conceal carry permit?

A little advice would be appreciated.

Thanks all.

PS I've been a reserve for 3 years, but its been a roller coaster ride and I don't believe I've gotten the full range of experiences yet...that's why I chose this particular message board to post in.
    "When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth." - Sherlock Holmes

Yes, you're a police officer through and through but by policy only when on duty.

Should someone pull a gun on someone at the supermarket, the best thing you can do is be a good witness and that would go for anyone who carries off duty as well. Action is faster than reaction and you and everyone else could end up dead or hurt if you decide to draw down (or attempt to) in the middle of an armed robbery.