300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I reconsider pursuing LE?

I am considering going into law enforcement after 15 years in education. As a high school teacher I taught some difficult populations, but I held my own and did well. Now I am burned out on teaching and need a new challenge. I feel a calling to LE after working closely with school resource officers and subsequently getting to know several patrol officers. I have a passion for public service and would like to continue.

Here’s the thing- Like many teachers, I have struggled off and on with anxiety in the past. Strangely, the anxiety always makes me BETTER at my job because it causes me to over-prepare for every eventuality. It also is never evident to anyone else because I put forth a very strong and competent presence. People who I’ve told about it have expressed surprise because I come off as so capable and under control. Nevertheless it’s certainly not an enjoyable feeling.

So assuming I could pass the psychological after having taken anti-anxiety meds before, my question is SHOULD I pursue this? Or is LE a field you need to enter with a completely clean psychological slate?

Any insight would be appreciated.

This is a tricky issue, and there are no absolute answers which can be provided here...

Police, like teachers, often also struggle with anxiety/depression. I don't have the time to go digging right now for a link, but I've read that 30% of urban police officers take SSRI meds (general population is 20%).

The whole issue of mental health is seen under a different lens these days. I compare it to having a broken arm. Wouldn't there be a reasonable expectation that a person concerned with their well-being would seek medical treatment if their arm was broken? So doesn't the same expectation exist for someone with a mental health condition?