300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice from my Uncle...

Hello! l would like to share some pieces of a letter my Uncle wrote me when I graduated the academy 4 years ago. I still follow the advice from this letter and I saw very quickly that he is right. I am very thankful for the things he said and I figured anyone seeking out advice in this rookie corner might get something out of it.

My Uncle was a Police Officer in Washington and recently retired.

"I am very pleased to learn you have chosen Law Enforcement as a career. There is no more honorable profession.
    I would like to take this opportunity to give you my thoughts on how to survive the career you have chosen. You can take them for what you think they are worth.

As an officer, when all is said and done, all we really have is our integrity. Never, under any circumstances compromise it.

If it is not free or discounted to the general public it is not free or discounted to you. Not even a cup of coffee. Draw the line at a glass of water and never cross it. I don't care if it's acceptable practice, don't do it.

The three things most likely to get you into trouble are Booze Bills and Boyfriends. Use alcohol sparingly, live within your means and be cautious in your involvement with any member of your department. Remember if it does not turn out to be a match and marriage made in heaven you may have to work with that person for the next 30 years. That would be difficult to do under the best of circumstances. Oh yeah, never have sexual contact with anyone while you are on duty, ever.