300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting over, and a surprise...

I applied, and was selected, to transfer from the jail division of our department to the patrol division. It's something I've been working on for several months, and just found out I'll start FTO soon.

I'm happy, but I also know I'm going from a position of respect and a fair amount of seniority back to being the bottom guy and not KNOWING anything anymore. Another whole skill set to learn. I confess I'm not looking forward to that part.

However, all that isn't the main problem.

I also found out that, on the patrol side, I have developed a reputation for being overly violent with inmates. I'm 6' 4" and 250lbs. I get asked to cover a lot of other deputies working the floor when there is a potential for violence. I often end up on cell extractions and pod shakedowns. When the boss needs to have a "come to Jesus" talk with a troublesome inmate I often get tasked with providing security, in part to help him make his point.

I admit I'm not afraid to use force, and I enjoy doing those things, but I don't think I've ever done so unnecessarily or outside policy. None of my use of force reports have ever come back unjustified. Nobody's ever told me offline to cool it.

Everybody fills a role on our detention team. Some people are good at paperwork, some people are good at talking to inmates, some people are good at booking, some are disciplinarians (citing inmates for infractions of jail rules and such) and some focus on doing the manual work that has to be done to keep things going. I transport inmates, do the manual work and stand by to try to PREVENT violence from occurring... and I resolve it if it does.

I _thought_ I was doing the right things this whole time. Now I find myself questioning everything about how I've been doing this job and my role in the organization... just as I'm getting ready to move into the most challenging part of my career so far.