300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• looking for advice

I'm looking for advice on how to talk to my dispatcher.

Here is a little backstory I'm a young officer that works at a small department, my dept. is made up of older officers that aren't very active so, this particular dispatcher is not used to having much going on since she has been working for a long time and close to retirement. Anyway the other night I had her look up an address for me so I could attempt to pick up a warrant, so she knew what I was going to be doing. I see the wanted individual walking down the street just two houses down from his house. I stop call in that I'm talking with him, tell him he's under arrest and he runs. I call it in and end up taseing him and also call in taser deployed. Dispatch doesn't answer and my assistance that is coming from another town because he hears what is happening and that I'm not getting any response again tells my dispatcher and she says on the radio "No he didn't" referring to me using the taser. Also she doesn't check your status hardly no matter what type of call your on.

Anyway how would you talk to this dispatcher.

To me, this sounds like a very serious problem that your supervisor would be able to take care of.

Comment

Who is in charge of the dispatchers? I assume there is some kind of SOP that dispatchers have to follow. If they are not following it, bring it to the attention of their supervisor.

Comment

We normally have 2-4 dispatchers on at all times. you cant get out of the car without them asking where you are . Good group of women we have. As mentioned thats a problem chain of command needs to address and quickly.

Comment

Don't say ANYTHING to your dispatcher. If you have a problem with another officer, it may be appropriate to talk to the officer face-to-face. But dispatchers are a different story. Talk to YOUR supervisor about it, and then your supervisor can talk to her supervisor.