300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question to FTO's and Vets about laterals

This question is catered more towards FTO's but I wouldn't mind other opinions views too.

I've been a sworn officer for almost 4 years now and have been doing quite well. Jumped on the TAC team last year and trying to do my best with the job at hand.

So my question is I might have an opportunity shortly to lateral out of state to a much larger department. If I take the position I'm obviously going to be a rookie again (To the OLD guys I'm still a rookie, but it's all good), but when I'm in FTO is there any suggestionns on how to make a good impression on the new PD? Any experiences on laterals coming over that were just plain ol pathetic?

Most of the questions I'm asking are pretty much common sense, and I'm pretty sure I can handle the new PD without looking like an imbecile. However, it would be nice to hear some feedback on what to do, and what not to do.

When you join the new department--------------act like a rookie.

You don't know crap...........you absorb everything you are told--------and get through FTO as quietly as you can.

You will get some breaks because you are "trained"........but don't' expect too many
    Last edited by Iowa #1603; 05-25-2011, 08:53 PM.
    Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Originally posted by Iowa #1603 View Post
      When you join the new department--------------act like a rookie.

You don't know crap...........you absorb everything you are told--------and get through FTO as quietly as you can.

You will get some breaks because you are "trained"........but don't' expect too many
      +10000000