Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice needed for a Lateral going to a Big City Police Dept.

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice needed for a Lateral going to a Big City Police Dept.

Hey,

I'm looking for advice on how to survive FTO at a bigger city, I've been a police officer for 2.5 years at a local university (10-20 officers), the last 10 months as detective. The city i'm going to is much larger (100+ officers) and busier. I am starting all over again and it seems to be sink or swim. Advice?

Thanks,

I agree. You're a rookie all over again, what i had to do.
    What University did you work at?

Comment

Get ready for people to be overly critical about your job performance. Be prepared to be considered as a "country bumpkin" by guys with less time on the job than you. It will pass in time when you start earning their respect. Just keep your mouth shut and do the job. I am going through exactly what you are.

Comment

I went through the same exact thing. I knew they wouldn't and shouldn't care about my past experiences. I wanted to learn police work their way, and made that clear to my fto. I just didn't speak unless spoken to, was courteous to everybody, and it worked out fine.

fto was a blast the second time around, it was more like having a partner in the car than being a trainee (once they see that you're ok).

good luck, bigger and busier is better IMO, you won't regret it.

Comment

Originally posted by Investigator 26
          Keep your mouth shut and ears and eyes open. Don't talk about your past experience. Just do the job and let everyone think you are a genius. It really makes guys angry to have somone come in from another department and talk like they've been that done that and bought the t-shirt. Good luck to you.