300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speaking to a class of 3 year olds

I will be speaking to a class of 3 year olds in the next few days about being a Police Officer...I'm a rookie (at policing and at talking to a class full of kids), so any advice on what to say/do/bring, and what not to do would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance

Keep in mind that they will have an attention span of about 5 seconds. Tell them police help people and the stuff on your belt helps you keep people safe. Don't run through parking lots, hold onto an adult's hand. Might be a little early for 911, but you might go over how to dial 911. Tell them not to be afraid of the police and that they can go to the police for help. Short sentences and basic concepts.

Comment

^ +1

I might add you can go over "stranger danger" and bring lots of stickers.

Comment

Say no to drugs

Comment

Wow...I'd rather be first throught the door everyday for a year than face a class of 3 year olds...

Your going to have to go w/ the flow. Sometimes you get a group of outgoing kids who have another question before you evn answered the first, sometimes you can get any of them to even nod yes or no.
          Keep it simple and quick, basic rules about safety, strangers, fire... Then let them take turns sitting in the car putting on the lights and sirens (Make sure the radio is turned OFF).
          "The wicked flee when no man pursueth
          but the righteous are bold as a lion"

Proverbs 28:1, inscription beneath NLEOM lion.sigpic

Comment

Wear a cape and fly away at the end of the presentation!

Comment

Originally posted by Protect-N-Serve View Post
              Wear a cape and fly away at the end of the presentation!
              +1 - most DEFINITELY!

I actually laughed out loud at that post - and that doesn't happen very often!

Comment

bring some candy

Comment