300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• X-Marines make good cops*

I have found over the years that many exceptionaly good cops were former Marines. The only problem is they think they are 'bullett proof". But they can make snap dicisions with a greater propensity that the avg. academy guy. But they are already well grounded but so RIGID and DUTIFULYY SWORN TO DO THE JOB AND GET THE JOB DONE!* Once a Marine, always a Marine*
    SEMPER FI

My last PD fired two USMC guys for violating civil rights violations for pulling people over without P/C and/or lying about why they pulled them over....

Nothing like seeing some decent dope/DUI cases get tossed because of it.....

Comment

Ya it all depends on the person, I've seen former military people get fired for various issues. There was a former marine from my academy class who got fired for soliciting a prostitute right after he worked a vice detail.

Comment

Im a 13yr veteran who has kept his nose clean and know many other former marines who are excellant cops because they now how to deal with adversity regardless of the few bad apples you guys have mentioned there are many more exceptional cops still doing the job who are former marines. I hope we get more of them too, Im sick of Field Training cry baby recruits with only their college degree's and no life experiences. Semper Fi
        "Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. The MARINES don't have that problem." ....Ronald Reagan

Comment

I've seen both sides of the coin, in the long run the question you need to ask yourself is would you work with that person as a partner. It really doesn't matter whether or not if they served in the military or not it's can they do the job that matters.

Comment

I agree fully. I have worked with some real dunces that were in the military before, but I have worked with some who were real squared away, especially since I have been a field training officer.