300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CID arrest authority

I've seen a lot of discussion on this forum about MP/DOD police arrest authority and how we don't have any. Does anyone on here know what authority an Army CID agent has? I've heard it's the same as any 1811 federal position, but never actually read anything about it. Also, when I get back stateside I'm wanting to join a reserve unit at the local PD, because I was a reserve officer prior to the military and I think it would be good to keep doing that, but I've heard it's against Army regulation. Does anyone know where I can find this info to see if it's correct?

USA CID Arrest Authority

Civilian Army CID Agents (1811's) do have statutory powers of arrest. Military CID Agents don't.
    Politically Correct? No.

Truthful? Yes!

Comment

USA CID Arrest Authority

Not true. CID civilian agents do have statutory arrest authority as identified below:

Chapter 373, Title 10, United States Code Section 4027 grants this authority.

Comment

Civilian SA's only!

.................................................. .................................................. ..

http://www.oscn.net/applications/osc...?CiteID=407952

United States Code
        Title 10 Armed Forces; and Appendix
        PART II - PERSONNEL
        CHAPTER 373 - CIVILIAN EMPLOYEES
        Section 4027 - Civilian special agents of the Criminal Investigation Command: authority to execute warrants and make arrests
        Cite as: 10 U.S.C. 4027 (OSCN 2007), CHAPTER 373 - CIVILIAN EMPLOYEES

(a) Authority. - The Secretary of the Army may authorize any Department of the Army civilian employee described in subsection (b) to have the same authority to execute and serve warrants and other processes issued under the authority of the United States and to make arrests without a warrant as may be authorized under section 1585a of this title for special agents of the Defense Criminal Investigative Service.