300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is being an MP worth it?

Hello. I'm currently in my first semester of POST. For you military guys, do you think enlisting as an MP would be a good stepping stone to getting on with a municipal PD, once I graduate from the academy? I'm specifically thinking about National Guard reserves, but am also considering Air Force reserves. The signing bonus is looking pretty good right now, along with the benefits, but i'm not sure i want to guard a gate all day. Any advice?
    Started POST Sept. 6, 2005

Depends on if you are a base MP or field MP. I know in the USMC you don't have a choice between the two. Field MP is the same MOS (5811) as base MP but you never do any "police activities." You mostly do field detention and processing of enemy prisoners of war (EPW's). I'm not even sure if you can choose the actual specialty. So in otherwords you will sign up for the 5800 field but may end up assigned to any MOS in the 5800 field including military corrections officer. I can't speak on how the Army does things as I never served in the Army.

Comment

Being an MP is what you make of it. As an MP you will be working while everyone else on base gets holidays and weekends off. Like said above, in the Marines you can choose the MP field, but not your specific job. One thing to think about also is that all branches of the military are switching to DOD cops for garrison police work, which means you'll be a field MP doing convoy security and epw handling.

Comment