Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military or a Graduate school help

Any advice would be extremely helpful!

I am graduating in May (B.S in Criminal Justice, Minor in Sociology) from my local university in San Diego and I am hoping to set myself up now for the future. I want to get into Fed LE down the road, but as of now I am debating if I should continue on with school (online masters program somewhere) or join the military to serve my country, gain valuable experience, and get the squared away attitude and style of the military. I don't know what branch I would want to serve, or what level (officer, enlisted, reserves), Ive been told to look into the Coast Guard, because they are under DHS, and I would like to get into the DHS, but I am hoping for advice to better guide my decision.

Any help would be great guys/gals thanks in advance!

Well if you have a B.S. I probably would not go enlisted. You can get your MA online in the military (I earned my degree in the military) and still serve. Make sure you are doing it for the right reasons and the military can be a valuable resource for you once you are in and when you get out. If you go OCS in the Army I believe the service commitment is still three years so keep that in mind. Additionally, at three years now is pretty much automatic O-3, so you may end up enjoying your term and want to stay. CPT is when you start getting commands, getting the good staff jobs, etc. Of course this is all for active duty. If you went reserves as an officer, you can have the best of both worlds, and even do your grad studies at a brick and mortar school.

Comment