300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking 0083. Need input from the Pro's

OK, I have read almost every thread here about 0083 jobs. And I'm more confused then when I started. This is the deal. I am a 25 year veteran LEO and Firefighter/EMT/Arson Investigator in Georgia. I have worked for the Gwinnett County Sheriff's Department and Gwinnett County Fire Department the entire time. (close to a million in population) I am currently a Captain in the Jail responsible for about 100+ sworn and civilian staff on my shift. I am also a Entry Team Leader for the Tactical Medics on our SWAT Team (15 years) and have served as Deputy, Sergeant and Lieutenant in our Warrant/Criminal/Fugitive Division (13 years of field experience.) I also have P.O.S.T certifications Basic, Intermediate, Advanced, Supervision, Management, Executive, Instructor and Firearms Instructor. And I have two and a half years of college w/no degree. I am now 50 and eligible for my pension. However I'm not ready to be put out to pasture just yet. (maybe at 65)

I was thinking of Kings Bay Naval Police since I own property in Brunswick, Ga. My questions are:
    Am I too old for realistic consideration?
    Can I qualify for higher than GS-5?
    What is advancement like for 0083 positions? (I'm a Leadership kinda guy)
    Can you transfer to other 0083 jobs within the system?
    How in God's name do they figure pay scales?
    Is King's Bay a good agency?

From everything that I have read I pretty much get the Security/Police function and no off duty carry. I honestly believe that will change in time though. I do have concerns about pool guns for LEO's. The idea of that is insane.

I know that this is a long *** post for my first one but I only know one way to do things. Wide open! Thanks in advance for advice or criticism.

Hello and welcome. I'll try and offer the insights that I can, although you will find 0083's here with far more experience than I.