300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Joining the reserves

I am currently applying with a local law enforcement agency and I also have some interest in joining the reserves in the near future. I am unfamiliar with the reserves and was wondering if anyone could give me any positives or negative of joining while having a career in law enforcement. I have always been interested in the military and also had thoughts of joining. For example, the Army reserves, what is the pay, what are the benefits, and how often do you work? Anything will help, just looking for ideas and conversation.

Thanks
    "Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go."

Joshua 1:9

I was a new police officer and a Sgt in the Army Reserves at the time. Most agencies are very accommodating. There are laws that protect your job. As far as pay and benefits, that stuff is all on line with military pay scales. Your asking a very vague question. As far as deploying, who knows. I know reservists who have yet to leave the states, I know others who every time I run into them in the break room they are gearing up for another deployment. Depending on what you want to do, becoming a police officer first might help you if plan on doing CID or CGIS. Other than that, I have been out for several years now, but 10s of thousands do it everyday.