300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MN cop, live in WI

I'm curious where I can find WI off-duty carry laws. I'm a MN cop who lives in WI, I'm wondering if I am able to carry in WI and what I need to do.

HR 213 is a bill that was passed a few years back that allows all active law enforcement officers to carry off-duty anywhere in the U.S. As long as you carry your badge and dept ID you should not have problem anywhere. I live in southeastern WI and continuely carry off-duty when I go to IL (ie Chicago).

Comment

Its HR218...and provided you're a full time LEO NOT part time, you're good to go. However, i suggest you read the bill just to be clear on it. I'd check with MN POST, they've probably written a primer on the bill that would guide you in the right direction.
      Nobody ever wants to have to fight, but its a darn good idea for someone to know how.

Comment

Cool, i'll look into it. Thanks.

Comment

Originally posted by jeeper View Post
          Its HR218...and provided you're a full time LEO NOT part time, you're good to go. However, i suggest you read the bill just to be clear on it. I'd check with MN POST, they've probably written a primer on the bill that would guide you in the right direction.
          Incorrect part time or full time may carry anywhere in the country (some exceptions like court houses and federal property) If you are a police officer that has statutory police power then you qualify.
          Happy to be here proud to serve

"Well it appears this lock does not accept american express."

Never trust fire fighters to point out a suspect.

Comment