Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Minnesota to Wisconsin LE - Questions

Hi folks,

I am writting to find out what would I need to do in order to get hired in Wisconsin since getting hired here in Minnesota is tough. I have an associates degree in Law Enforcement from Alexandria Technical and I am currently "eligable to be hired" in Minnesota. I assume I would have to go to a basic statutes course to learn the Wisconsin laws, are there any others I would have to do?

One of my former co-workers is a former LEO who started in MN then went to WI, but missed his family and desided to come back and he said it wasn't that difficult since he had the same education level as I do. But I wanted some additional feedback.

Thanks for any help.

Even though you're certified in Minnesota, you'd need to attend a 520 academy for Law Enforcement Standards Certification in Wisconsin. These are offered at quite a few Technical Colleges, and some allow you to be self-sponsored. A few agencies such as the Milwaukee P.D., the Madison P.D. and the State Patrol run their own academies. You already meet the necessary educational requirements.
    Extremism in the pursuit of liberty is no vice. Barry Goldwater

Comment

Actually... Not to step on your feet Keith... If he is certified in MN, He will only have to do the 120 hr reciprocity course... https://wilenet.org/html/career/wantransfer.doc

Right now it is ~three weeks... But I know they are changing it, I heard something like a week and a test out...

If not certified in any other state, you would have to do the 520 hr course...
      ~Wise men stand behind me, Brave men stand beside me, only Fools stand against me!~

Comment

Hutch is right, you only need to do the 120hr reciprocity course. I, however, have heard nothing about them cutting it down. Also, there are alot of the Tech schools that do not offer just the 120hr course. I know that WWTC and MATC Madison both don't offer the course.