Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Current LEO in TX, Questions about WI.

I have a few questions about Wisconson/Milwaukee are LE Jobs.

First, A little about me, and the reasoning behind my questions. My wife and I met in College and lived in Colorado for 15 years. I was a Police Officer in a small suburb of Denver for 5.5 years. My wife got a promotion to the DFW (Texas) area. I took the first LE job I could get, and am very happy with where I landed in a medium sized "Inner Ring" suburb of Dallas. There are under 200 sworn and the population is around 120K people. I've been here 3 years and am now quite happy.

At first things weren't so great. I was unable to challenge the state test, and had to go through an academy. It was a regional academy and not well run. I am not interested in going through a third academy if my wife gets transfered again. Now that I'm on my own, I'm thrilled with the pace and type of work we do. We work hard, have fun, and show great teamwork. I'd love to be able to find a similar work environment.

A transfer to the Milwaukee area may be in the future for us and financially would be a no brainer to go. With that said, I'm looking for all types of advice.
    1. What are the odds I can find a Department that would help me study and let me challenge the state licensing test? Anyone know of any area Departments offhand.
    2. I would like to be in an inner ring City in the metro area. I don't know how far Madison is from Milwaukee or how big it is. What are some similar sized Cities in the area from where I currently work listed above?
    3. What are some good areas to live in with good schools? For reference, we have a 3000 square foot home ($300K) in the Dallas Area. What can that money get you in terms of size in the areas with good schools? Wife needs to live within 45-60 minutes of the airport, and I LOVE my 15 minute commute to work.