300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving to WA from SC (certified LE)

Hello, I’m going to be moving to Washington state in the next 6 months or so. My other half is getting stationed at Bangor Navy base. She’s from WA (Olympia) so she’s very familiar with the geography though I’ve never left the east coast. She tells me we will probably live around Bremerton or Port Orchard. I’d like to get some first hand info from y’all about any good agencies in the area whether it’s state, county, or municipal.

A little about me: I’m a deputy for a Sheriff’s office near Charleston, SC. I’ve got 2 years experience as a reserve deputy (from what info I can gather online, WA and SC reserves are exactly the same thing) and currently 7 months full time/regular certified. I’ve seen a few departments hiring mentioning that for a lateral you need 1 year of exp. post certification/field training, my 1 year mark will be in January of 2021 which is about the time I’ll be moving so I’m not worried about that. Any info that anybody can share about the certification transfer process would be super helpful as well. I appreciate the help in advance!

I don't have any advice. But good luck policing in the Seattle Metro areas

Comment

WSCJTC runs two week academies for out-state laterals (which there are plenty of), final exam, then good to go.

They're super goofy about what qualifies for previous training... example, if you graduated FLETC land management police training between 2007-2013, good to go. But 2014... not so much.

https://cjtc.wa.gov/docs/default-sou...vrsn=9d018b3_2

Getting certification transferred shouldn't be the problem. Your problem is this: officers are leaving SPD in droves, for obvious reasons. The competition for positions in neighboring areas is intense and you are at the lower end of the experience scale.

Maybe you'll luck out and slide into a slot, but I suspect it won't be so easy.