Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Snohomish/Pierce County Areas

Good afternoon everyone,

I currently work in King County. The cost of living is killer here. 2B/1B condos with 900 SF are 600K plus 600 in monthly HOA dues, LOL.

I work in central Seattle and do not have a take home car. I hope to be able to make the commute (Not that bad on swings or graves). Marysville is 31 miles away and Puyallup is 40 miles away. I have a great commuter car that gets 40 MPG and who knows, maybe my wife will let me buy a bike for the added fuel economy. LMAO.

I am looking at Snohomish areas as well as Pierce County. In Snohomish County, I am looking mostly at the Lake Stevens and Marysville area. In Pierce County I am looking at Puyallup, Bonney Lake, Sumner, and Buckley areas. Buckley is a bit far but, I would do it for the right house. My wife works from home, so at least I don't have to worry about her commute.

I am new to the west side of the state so I am not that familiar with these different parts of town other than the housing is substantially less expensive that central Seattle and these two counties have much lower taxes than King County.

I do have a 3 year old, she will be starting school in a couple years. I would like to be in a family area with good schools.

My question for you all is...for those of you that are familiar with these areas, can you shed some light and give me your opinions on crime, schools etc...Lastly, working in central Seattle, I am right in the middle, so I figure it doesn't matter if I live North or South. Everyone will be going towards Seattle during rush hour and I will be going against it (As long as I don't get stuck on day shift). Is this an accurate assumption or do you guys think I will most definitely deal with less traffic living North or South of Seattle?

Thank you everyone. I really appreciate everyone replies.

Have a great night and stay safe.