300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• May be moving to WA

I'm a sheriff's deputy in Colorado. My wife is considering accepting a promotion, which would require that we move to the Seattle area.

We'd be looking at the Mukilteo/ Everett area to live, and I'm looking at Mukilteo, Everett and Snohomish County for employment. I've been to the WSCJTC website and read about the 80 hour BLEA equivalency academy.

1. Any other agencies or communities to look at for employment?

2. Any additional info on the equivalency academy, beyond what's on the website? Anybody attended?

3. I can't find any info on state medical standards. Does WA have state-level standards, or it it left up to each agency to develop their own?

4. Any other insight or comments on transferring peace officer certification into the state and becoming a peace officer in WA?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

1) The Mukilteo area is a perfect location. It's a reasonable commute to agencies in both Snohomish County and King County. King County and Seattle are the two largest agencies in the region and both are hiring huge numbers. Everett is also hurting for officers bad. Depending on the size of the agency you are looking for, there are many decent but smaller agencies in the area that are great options. You can test for most of them on publicsafetytesting.com although some may have different processes for laterals.

3) Washington state agencies utilized the LEOFF (Law Enforcement Officer, Firefighter) medical standards.

4) As a lateral, this is great time to get hire on with an agency here. Many agencies are hiring right now and many prefer laterals.

Good luck.

Comment