300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potential Officer Questions

Hello, I am currently in my final year of college in Southern California (dual major with IT and Marketing), and my girlfriend and I want to move up to Washington after I graduate. We love the weather and the people. My uncle lives in Vancouver, WA, and we visited them last summer and lover everything about Washington. My girlfriend very much likes the Olympia area, and has been looking at what kinds of homes are available in the Olympia and Lacey areas.

I am interested in becoming law enforcement of some sort, either Sheriff, Police or Corrections (both of my parents are CCII's). My girlfriend's brother-in-law is LAPD and I have been asking him a lot about the job and the academy, but I know it won't be exactly the same as in WA.

I would like some insight into what the different duties of the jobs (Sheriff vs. PD mainly, because I know a bit about Corrections) are and what paths have good pay, benefits and advancement opportunities. I might be interested in Highway Patrol/State Patrol, but we'd like to live in the Olympia area (I'm open to Vancouver area as well), and I know that location can't be guaranteed. Can anyone help out a possible future officer? Thank you!

Clark county just recently received approval to hire 8 additional corrections officers. They are in the middle of the process to hire 8 deputies.

Comment