Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best Path to Federal LE (0083 / 1811 series) as 34 Year Old DA?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Path to Federal LE (0083 / 1811 series) as 34 Year Old DA?

Hello everyone, I've been meaning to transition to law enforcement for awhile now. What's going on with the riots and protests though, that's what's really pushed me to finally start applying. I don't feel proud about being an assistant DA anymore, especially in my current office, which isn't supporting police in these times.

I'm 34 now and worried that I won't be able to get a federal position by the age 37 cutoff. I don't necessarily need to do federal work, but I'd like to keep the option open. I'd be happy to work for NPS or BIA as an officer, I'm not aiming for the FBI/DEA/HSI/USMS.

I don't have any law enforcement experience, but have been a prosecutor for several years now. I regularly work with officers and detectives on warrants and sometimes give them input on investigation-related questions, but that's about the most LE-related experience I have.

What do you think about is most likely option to get me a federal position before the age cutoff? I think it'll be very close on the timing.

1) Continue working as a prosecutor and keep applying for jobs? I'm in the National Guard and it's possible as I get more training, my security clearance will open some doors.

2) Work for a local law enforcement agency for 1-2 years? I'd probably be 35 by the time I can start the academy, do have a couple applications out now. The only agencies that are hiring near me are a few hours a way and have a different retirement system than the one I'm on.