300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VA Police - Montrose, NY & Castle Point, NY

*I will disclaim before I get jumped by anyone in here that I have read all threads I have been able to related to VA Police prior to posting this*

I am currently a Police Officer in Colorado, and am potentially looking at a move to Upstate New York with the Montrose, NY and Castle Point, NY VA Police. I realize the numerous downsides associated with such a move, but my wife wants to live near her parents which are an hour for the area. My question is:

Is there anyone here who has worked for or with the agency? Anyone willing to share what their experiences have been, good and bad? I am leaving one of the largest Metro PD's in Colorado for this job, so I will be taking a considerable pay cut, but I am more concerned with the staff, working environment, shifts (4/10 - 5/8's), equipment, moral, etc. with the VA Police in these locations. Again I know In general the issues related to VA Police - Short Academy, No Taser (an issue in my opinion), no 6c retirement, low pay, and hospital cop mentality), but to please the wife I am willing to make many of these concessions.

Thank you for your time.

God bless and Semper Fidelis Brothers - Whit

Just realize you will be more a security guard than police officer. The VA cops I know are all good guys, but the agency's upper management frowns on you acting like police officers. Coming from a metro police force will be culture shock for you. Most of the guys I know in the VA are on their 2nd career, having done 20 already and not bothered by the job. BTW, its just as dangerous as you metro police work.

Personally, I think your giving up alot...but thats me.
    Hey Kidd, I've got more time On Meal than you have "On the Job"

Comment

It is a big pay cut, the VA Police is the lowest paid Police agency in the NY metro area. That area is also one of the highest cost of living areas. Think long and hard.

Comment