300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questioin regarding what would better prepare me for being selected for FLE

I applied for DSS-SA yesterday and know that its a long shot since I don't have any LE experience. I have my degree but it is in History. I know from research that getting a Master's degree makes your more competitive. As far as what degree should I get it in? i have no idea. I'm thinking if i do this i'll get it in education since I already of a liberal arts degree and can always teach p/t.

I've also been researching National Guard/Army OCS.

Any suggestions? I am 28 now
    Last edited by WannaBeTacMedic; 09-30-2009, 06:27 PM.

DSS is VERY Competitive. I know a bunch of guys who have been hired there, and most are former Uniformed Officers. Have you considered a foreign language ? that would certainly help you. I do not think a MA in EDU, will assit you much, when you are competing against, LEO's, who also have BA's or MA,s in CJA or EM, etc.

Good Luck.

Comment

Originally posted by 2971511 View Post
      DSS is VERY Competitive. I know a bunch of guys who have been hired there, and most are former Uniformed Officers. Have you considered a foreign language ? that would certainly help you. I do not think a MA in EDU, will assit you much, when you are competing against, LEO's, who also have BA's or MA,s in CJA or EM, etc.

Good Luck.
      I've considered a foregin language. It will definitely be a plus if border patrol picks me up since i'll add spanish to my repertoire. If i do pick a foreign language for education well i can't get my masters i would have to get a dual degree. Next question is get a dual degree or masters in something else?

Comment

IMHO, Spanish speakers are a dime a dozen, I do not think that a USBP Spanish class will help you much, being hired and working a few years as a BPA however, probably will.