300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Virginia Peace Officer Question

What authority does a “conservator of the peace” in Virginia have? Specifically when you are classified as a conservator of the peace under 19.2-12. I am a Federal law enforcement officer based in Virginia and my department is mentioned in 19.2-12. Let’s assume that my agency does not limit my “conservator of the peace” status (it does, but humor me).

What can/can’t you do, what powers and what jurisdiction(s) do you have?

There seems to be two consistent, yet very different answers I keep running into:

1.) Conservators of the peace as classified in 19.2-12 have statewide jurisdiction to arrest for any crime committed in their presence; enforce state law

2.) Conservators of the peace as classified in 19.2-12 have the same powers as a normal police officer, but only within the limits of their employer’s (agency’s) property; ie; the area/land in which they are hired to protect

Number 1 seems unlikely to me because it seems like way too much authority for an individual or entity to have who is not specifically under the control of the actual State.

Number 2 seems more reasonable, but if we are talking Federal “employer” here then it doesn’t make any sense because a Federal law enforcement entity does not need “permission” from the State to enforce state law on Federal property- they have the Assimilative Crimes Act for that.

Anyway, I am just curious as to what State law actually allows a conservator of the peace to do. As I mentioned earlier, my agency’s policy limits my “conservator of the peace” status, but it does not define what a “conservator of the peace” is. My agency basically says “officers’ authority under 19.2-12 as a conservator of the peace outside of Federal jurisdiction is limited to intervening only when witnessing violent crimes”.
    Last edited by Henry5; 11-28-2014, 11:13 PM.