300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Info Needed Please

I am looking for some info from some sworn LEO's in VT. I am a sworn Officer in NJ and with the economy here the way it is my department is next on the chopping block for lay offs with me possibly being one of the many getting the ax. So I'm considering my options of going out of state. If anyone has any info on departments that are taking laterals from out of state I would greatly appreciate it. Also if you can tell me what you like and don't like about working in VT would be appreciated as well. Any info on retirement, pay, and benefits would be great also. Feel free to PM me if needed.

Here is the info about waivers for our academy: http://www.vcjtc.state.vt.us/waiver.htm

Here are the departments currently hiring: http://www.vcjtc.state.vt.us/job.htm

Salaries are likely significantly lower than NJ and benefits are not likely as good. All in all it's a good place to work as long as you're not expecting call to call to call, as our largest city Burlington only has a population of 40k. The state is very liberal (think MA and CA type liberal).

The good things:
    All officers irregardless of where they work all have state wide authority for all violations.
    Lots of opportunities to work grant projects (DUI, etc.)
    Depending on where you work it can be super busy or super slow or any combination in between.
    Bigger PD's make good money for the area. Benefits are usually good, but you won't see the good retirement plans you see in other places.

The bad things:
    Very liberal.
    Lots of snow.
    Cold.
    No search incident to arrest of vehicles, no PC searches of vehicles, consent to search anything must be recorded or signed and can't order someone out of vehicle on stop without their consent or suspicion of crime being committed...

Good luck!

Comment