300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Austin Police Department

I am a police officer at a larger Missouri police department and am currently seeking to obain employment with a repuatable and progressive department in Texas. I am particularly interested in Austin and was curious if anyone who posts on this site possessed any unique insight into this department. What are the opinions regarding the Austin Police Department? What is the general attitude of the Austin PD concerning crime prevention? For example, does the Austin PD encourage officers to aggresively implement crime prevention tactics or is it more about PR? I know Austin pays well and is a wonderful place to live, however I didnt get into law enforcement to stand around all day shaking hands and kissing babies. What type of equipment is issued (tasers, patrol rifles, shotguns, etc.)? What are the requirements for special assignments? What type of retirement is offered? Any and all information is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Mike

I think that most of this has already been answered in here, but just in case it hasn't....

Most people (general public) keep a high regard for the PD. Unfortunately, they are not the ones that make the most noise, so they are rarely heard from. The ones that make the most noise are the ones that bad mouth the dept, scream and cry that they think they were mis-treated, etc, etc. Does it change the way that I do my job, not at all. People like to bitch and moan about us until they need us, then they're the first to call us.

If you want to be pro-active, by all means, go out and get after it. If you want to shake hands and kiss babies, we have that too.