Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The New Guy has a question

Hello Everyone,
    This is my first time writing in this forum. I have been reading other posts and it seems like everyone has pretty decent knowlege and good opinions. So I am hoping that one, some or all of you can give me some useful information. I am currently in the U.S Army and I have less than a year left on my contract, so I figure in a few months would be a good time for me to apply to some police agencies. I am 25 yrs old with a B.A degree in criminal justice. I have good credit, good driving history but ( there is alwasy a BUT ). Before I joined the Army I had a few brushes with the law and made a few mistakes such as disorderly conduct. I never had any drug charges, misdemeanors or felonies. My question is what police departments in Texas would everyone consider to be the "best depratments for me to apply to". I was wondering if most agencies in Texas can and will look past the mistakes I made before I joined the Army. Also, I would like to apply department in the DFW area or Central Texas. I am looking to apply for a department with a quick hiring process so that I can go to an academy sooner rather than later. If you guys can offer me any advice on where I should start sending me my applications that would be great. I have made contact with Dallas and Arlington and I am interested in any information that anyone might have on those 2 agencies. I have been away from my family too much over the past few years ( I am actually in Kuwait as we speak) and if possible are there any departments out their that have 4 day ten hour shifts, that give officers 3 days off? Sorry about the length of this post, I promise my next one will be much shorter. Thank you all for your time!