300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Driver license ? for you traffic boys

Im a rookie in patrol I've been looking in the transportation code where it says basically that I can pull some one over just to validate their license.

Any clues where to look? I believe I've been throught it pretty thorough but still cant find.

I know its a b.s. law/ probale cause to pull someone over but I got a hypothetical situation at work and it would help to know the validity of it.

Thanks for your help,

Josh
    "If you want forgiveness go get some religion"

Perhaps this is what you're looking for?

§ 521.025. LICENSE TO BE CARRIED AND EXHIBITED ON DEMAND;
    CRIMINAL PENALTY. (a) A person required to hold a license under
    Section 521.021 shall:
    (1) have in the person's possession while operating a
    motor vehicle the class of driver's license appropriate for the
    type of vehicle operated; and
    (2) display the license on the demand of a magistrate,
    court officer, or peace officer.
    (b) A peace officer may stop and detain a person operating a
    motor vehicle to determine if the person has a driver's license as
    required by this section.

(c) A person who violates this section commits an offense.
    An offense under this subsection is a misdemeanor punishable by a
    fine not to exceed $200,
    Last edited by JSD73; 05-11-2007, 11:04 PM.
    Moooooooooooo, I'm a goat

Comment

The trooper that tought traffic law in my academy says he uses this all the time when he thinks a driver might be driving underage. Says he has cought all kinds of people with no DL this way.

Comment

I know 521.025 may seem to read otherwise, but I should mention that a traffic stop just to check a DL may be unconstitutional. It’s not a very clear area of the law; and different books give different answers.