300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Avg. Length of Hiring Process for Tx. Depts

I understand there are different variables that come into play, but im just looking for a rough estimate. It seems for the most part that Tx area departments have a streamlined process, some as quick as 3 months. Most Louisiana depts, including mine, average 8-16 months for an applicant to be processed.

took me only a month granted I worked as a 911 call taker for another law enforcement agency but the agency i got hired with is pretty small so far so good.
    "If you want forgiveness go get some religion"

Comment

Depends I guess on how the hiring process is set up. Larger departments, Houston for one, will probably take longer than most smaller agencies. I work for a department of 170. For us, from civil service exam to a job offer is around 3 months, four at the most. Other agencies near us, same size or smaller, 3 months or less.

Hope it helps.

Comment

Mine took about a month and a half. Reason being I had to wait about 2.5 weeks until the next test date (written/physical) and then needed to wait about 3.5 weeks on background. The rest pretty much fell into place quickly. Of course my agency dose not use polygraph either so that took out a step.
        Ever feel like you live in the state of confusion?

Comment

F'in A....hate the poly..waste of time and resources

In the Houston area you can look from as little as 2 months with some smaller agencies and upwards of 6 months to a year with the bigger ones...if not longer.
          Moooooooooooo, I'm a goat

Comment

I was hired by the Arlington PD within three and a half weeks. I did the preliminary interview and physical agility test the first week; medical, polygraph, and psych the next week, and the final board interview the week after that. It was very quick

Comment

Originally posted by saintsfan71 View Post