300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Benefits within Texas L.E.

I am currently a Police Officer in California. My wife and I were considering a move to Texas and with that I started my research into where I would work. I seem to have come to a roadblock in the area of benefits. From what I am finding officers in Texas are having to spend a lot of money to pay for medical insurance for their families. With that cost plus the typical 7% towards retirement seems to be a huge financial hit for an officer to take from their paycheck. My question is simply does anyone have any good information as to who pays what for family medical coverage. Are there agencies out there that are not forcing their officers to pay so much?

A lot of TX departments will real you in with high numbers but have horrible and expensive insurance plans. Also I believe the TMRS retirement system doesn't include medical benefits after you retire. The downfall of not having unions.

Comment

Most agencies I knew of charged over $350 a month for family medical.

Comment

I only have me and my kid on my plan. It's costing me about $200 a month. It ain't great, but that's just the way it is for now. If you're moving here from California you can count on a signifigantly lower cost of living, but I'm sure you knew that. Hopefully, with a little time and lobbying, the cost of healthcare coverage for retirees will improve. My dad retired recently, and he's paying an un-godly amount for his healthcare coverage. It's almost worth staying on just to avoid that kick in the jewels....

Comment

10%, not 7% of a retirement plan payout down here!

I don't have children, so I benefit from not having to paying anything for medical coverage. I would have only needed to pay if I got a premium plan.
          If you can't be a good example -- then you'll just have to be a horrible warning.

Comment