300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• websites

What websites do you guys use for finding a job in Texas? Currently I live in MN and looking to start a career in law enforcement. What kind of requirements do you need to be a police officer in Texas. I have a 2 year degree in law enforcement and I passed the Minnesota license exam.

Thanks for the help.

You'll either have to go thru an academy here or you can challenge TCLEOSE (Texas Commision on Law Enforcement Officers Standards and Education). Some departments will send you to an academy and others want you already certified.

TML.ORG is a decent place to find who is hiring in Tx.
    Moooooooooooo, I'm a goat

Comment

Here is the direct link to TML. There are a lot that advertise in newspapers though, and don't post to TML. Find a few you want and check their websites. Some of the bigger agencies have recruiting pages.

http://www.tml.org/classifieds/classifieds_police.html

Comment

Oh yeah, there is also a police newspaper that advertises

www.thebluesnews.com

Comment

You get three shots to pass TCLEOSE - if you passed yours, you really just need to study the penal code and traffic, I would guess.

Do you want big or little? If little, PM me. My small town dosen't pay like the big boys, but it's getting better and the cost of living is pretty cheap. I'm better off than if I had gotten Dallas at 38-40K, I think.
          If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason.

---Jack Handey

Comment

i don't know. a handful of agencies around here are starting over $50K. that's not a bad deal for a beat cop.

Comment

Thanks for your guy's help. It's a tough decision whether or not to apply down there. All my family is up here and I don't know anyone down there. So I think I need to take some more time to think about it.

Comment