300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jury Duty?

Am I except, or will I have to go in, and tell them that I am a Texas Peace Officer?

If you were summoned, you have to go. During the voir dire, they cut most officers......but not all of the time. Don't expect to sit on a jury, but don't rule it out.

Comment

Do you mean exempt? If you do, then no! You're still required to show up, wait and hopefully released early enough to enjoy your day. I've had to sit through voir dire before getting cut loose.
      Strong Body, Sharp Mind And Good Tactics!

Comment

Originally posted by Rush817 View Post
        Do you mean exempt? If you do, then no! You're still required to show up, wait and hopefully released early enough to enjoy your day. I've had to sit through voir dire before getting cut loose.
        LOL Yes, I meant exempt! Well, looks like I will be siting in hell then.
        Thanks for the replies.

Comment

Originally posted by TopCop11 View Post
          Well, looks like I will be siting in hell then.
          Voir dire does suck. And here's why... For most of the jurors, it's their first time sitting a fancy courtroom with lawyers and judges and whatnot. It's just like they've seen on television. So for some reason they tend to get diarrhea of the mouth. They'll talk on and on because for once, they think their opinions matter.

And God help you if it's a criminal trial. You'll have to sit quietly while a room full of idiots bash police and tell stories about how this "one friend" got arrested and "didn't even do nothin'" or "only had 3 beers and wasn't even drunk."

That said, I don't avoid jury duty. I'll b1tch about it, but it is a DUTY that I will fulfill.

Best quote from voir dire on a DWI trial I got summoned for. "I don't think there should be a legal limit. My friend can drink 50 beers at a time and not be drunk."

Comment