Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to LE... Looking for advice

Hello,
    I would like to introduce myself... My name is Amy and I am a 36 year old female from Southeast Texas. I currently possess my masters degree in criminology with numerous continuing education classes (about 20) in everything ranging from child abuse to investigations to social work from the state. I have no experience in law enforcement and am not a certified peace officer. I currently work for Child Protective Services as an Investigator. Last week I tested for the position of US Federal Probation Officer. My goal is to get into law enforcement. It seems as though it would have been more beneficial to have been certified rather than have a masters degree! I am looking for advice on where to begin my law enforcement career. Being certified is really my only downfall other than the mile plus runs for the physical tests but I am working on that!! I enjoy reading all the posts and any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!!

Wow, all these views and no answer. I'm curious to hear as well. I'll be in a similar position when I retire from the military. Hope you get some replies soon!

Comment

I would make a wish list on 5 five agencies you would like to work for and due your research. Talk to the recruiters, do ride outs and see which depts. have a good admin, benefits and moral. Being a CPS Investigator you should come in contact with officers from various agencies. Get their input!
      Strong Body, Sharp Mind And Good Tactics!

Comment

Contact us at HPDcareer.com or call (800) 252-0473 (713) 308-1300
        We are actively seeking to hire 200-225 officers in the next year.

The Houston Police Department does not require prior law enforcement as a basic requirement. 48 semester hours of college meets our basic requirement and it appears you have meet that standard.