300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reserves and Off-Duty Carry

I did a search on this and could find nothing, so I apologize if this has been asked before.

I was a full time peace officer, but now work in the private sector. I still reserve for a small town to keep my commission up. My chief told me that he had no problem with me carrying off-duty, and I always understood that reserves could carry off duty.

I know that in 2.12 CCP and Chapter 46 PC it discusses who peace officers are and who the weapons limits do not apply to. Does the Occupations Code make any differences in off-duty carry? Do I need a letter from my chief?

Thanks!

I carry off duty amost every time I leave the house. I'm reserving at my local PD, have since '01 pretty much. You're still a licensed peace officer, whether full-time or reserve. I always have my badge and the new TCLEOSE ID on me, just incase I need to show it to anyone (we don't have department ID's..saves the dept. a dollar or two I guess).

Comment

Most of our reserves carry off duty. I've never looked it up, I just assume it is legal. I would never hassle as reserve for off duty carry.

Originally posted by josephcook78 View Post
      I carry off duty amost every time I leave the house. I'm reserving at my local PD, have since '01 pretty much. You're still a licensed peace officer, whether full-time or reserve. I always have my badge and the new TCLEOSE ID on me, just incase I need to show it to anyone (we don't have department ID's..saves the dept. a dollar or two I guess).