300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Criminal Mischief Work?

So I work for the city but I am also a courtesy officer at an apartment complex near a college campus. Every week there is always one individual who is vomitting or urinating in the general hallways of the complex. Other than arresting them for Public Intoxication would it pass to charge him for criminal mischief?

§ 28.03. CRIMINAL MISCHIEF. (a) A person commits an
    offense if, without the effective consent of the owner:
    (1) he intentionally or knowingly damages or destroys
    the tangible property of the owner;
    (2) he intentionally or knowingly tampers with the
    tangible property of the owner and causes pecuniary loss or
    substantial inconvenience to the owner or a third person; or

When someone vomits or urinates its usually in the walking areas of the complex. Therefore, the after hours maintenance workers have to come out and are getting paid overtime, they have to disinfect and clear the urine and puke. Its easily pass $50 to clean everything up. Or could I add reckless damage?

§ 28.04. RECKLESS DAMAGE OR DESTRUCTION. (a) A person
    commits an offense if, without the effective consent of the owner,
    he recklessly damages or destroys property of the owner.
    (b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.

I am just finding a way for my apartment managers to get some sort of restitution for all the money the company has to pay every week.

Hook him for criminal mischief and see what happens. If it doesn't float in court then move onto plan B. If you did, I would make sure someone from the apartment staff is in court to testify if need be.

Comment