300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DPS helicopter/airplane pilot

Anybody on here one? I was looking for some more real life information on it than what I can get through the grapevine or on the website.

First of all, I don’t' work with DPS, but I am a pilot/ law enforcement officer and friends with a few of the guys in their aircraft side. Unless something has changed in the last few years, in order to get to the pilot side of things you are required to obtain at least your private pilot rating and have made it to Trooper 2 (4-5 years I think in service).

They also have started what is called a tactical flight officer position. This does not require a rating, but most who take this position are PPL rated just waiting for a pilot vacancy to come available. My friends and contacts at DPS who are pilots told me they have used the tactical flight officer position to see if that person is who they really want, and is up to the challenge before they invest money for all of the other ratings your are going to need to be a pilot for them. Those ratings include all the rotor ratings (instrument, commercial) that the FFA requires you to have to fly for a living. The TFO position is there to operate radios and all the other no equipment on board for operations.

You do have the opportunity to fly fixed wing, but he said that for the most part, the entry level pilot position is going to be flying helicopters. To fly fixed you are still going to need to be commercial and instrument rated in fixed wing. There is a link to the aviation service on their web site. I believe there are pictures of some of their aircraft and the list of qualifications that I mentioned above. If your already a pilot you probably are familiar with the pilot language I used, but if not, go to the FAA web site, Google, or even AOPA to get the information on ratings. Hope this has helped.

Comment

Originally posted by pkeely2010 View Post