300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Firearms N00b- Advice?

Hey guys, I'm an applicant and will likely be attending a municipal police academy some time in 2010. I have very little experience with firearms. Years ago I used to occasionally hunt deer with my father, so I've fired a bolt action rifle more than anything else. I went to the range once when I was a teenager and fired off some 9 mm rounds. I've fired a shotgun maybe twice. No instruction, and I definitely don't feel comfortable or familiar with guns.
    So my question is, what (if anything) do you guys think I should do between now and when the academy starts. Should I sign up for a course? Should I buy a gun? I live in the Austin area if anyone has any specific courses they'd recommend.
    "No one can make you feel like a turd without your permission." - Eleanor Roosevelt.

The academy will teach you. Don't pick up bad habits that they will have break.

Comment

I don't think there is anything wrong with shooting a little bit before you go..

Yes you could learn some bad habits, but as long as your shooting well and can adapt and learn what people show and teach, you will be ok..

I have had many different instructor's during my police career and can tell you that all of them shoot just a little different each time..

I in particular have a weird way to shoot, that they tried to fix with no avail..

I draw with my right hand and switch to my left hand.. I qualify expert every single time..

The academy instructors tried to make me proficent with drawing with my right and shooting with my right, but my score was way down each time they tried.. They eventually told me that everyone shoots a little different and as long as I was proficent, there wasn't a problem..

I also tried to set up my rig with a left handed draw, what a nightmare... I cannot draw with my left hand, yes yes i know, im messed up...
      "If you find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck"

Comment