300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting From Square One

I live in Nashville and have zero experience in law enforcement, but I have a huge interest and a great desire to be a police officer.

I'm 21 years old. I graduated high school in 2010 and have done two years of college. Unfortunately, my job history has been pretty spotty since then. Technical director at two churches, beach service, landscaping, film internship, marketing company, self employed as a graphic designer, and now about to start waiting tables for extra cash. I've spent a lot of time figuring out what I want to do with my life, but I finally landed into a passion for law enforcement. However, I feel as this will reflect poorly on any background investigation. It seems flighty.

I know it's extremely hard to get hired as it is, and especially so with zero experience and spotty work history. There's nothing I can do about the past, so I'm looking for advice on how to get my foot in the door as a police officer.

Ultimately I would like to work for Metro Nashville, but does anyone have any suggestions on departments in the area that are hiring and are willing to hire the less experienced?

Suggestions? Any advice is good advice, but please keep it constructive. I'd even be interested in having a LEO mentor in the Nashville area, if that's not weird and someone would be interested. I'm willing to do whatever it takes to be a police officer.
    Last edited by Mr Trevor; 06-10-2014, 09:41 PM. Reason: clarity