300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving to South Carolina

Hello all. I am moving to SC in July because of wifes new employer. I have eight years of experience as a Deputy Sheriif (police not Corrections) in Maryland and eight years of military experince. Her job is at Williamsburg FCI in Williamsburg County. What are some of the good agencies to apply to in the area? Preferably south of Williamsburg County but North Of Charleston.

Good god. I live in SC and I still had to find out where Williamsburg County is. I gotta be honest, your only decent bet is to work the east end of Charleston County because Charleston County SO is actually a decent agency. No other agencies near you are worth looking at. You COULD try SC Highway Patrol and join the troop that covers that area of the state. That way, you will be in jurisdiction as soon as you leave your house and you won't have a 45min - 60min commute to work.

Comment

Originally posted by vfm208 View Post
      Good god. I live in SC and I still had to find out where Williamsburg County is. I gotta be honest, your only decent bet is to work the east end of Charleston County because Charleston County SO is actually a decent agency. No other agencies near you are worth looking at. You COULD try SC Highway Patrol and join the troop that covers that area of the state. That way, you will be in jurisdiction as soon as you leave your house and you won't have a 45min - 60min commute to work.
      I agree... but with SCHP I would imagine it a whole different mindset going from a SO to HP down here. Cavscout - did you do collision investigation in VA? If not you better be ready for it big time with SCHP down here... not to mention prosecuting your own cases including DUIs in many of the Posts...
      Graduated May 28, 2010 SCHP Basic #88
      Assigned to Lexington County
      Basic 88 appreciates... Motivated Motivated, Dedicated Dedicated, Hardcore Hardcore, Drive on SIR!

Comment