Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Full-time police officer looking to move from Michigan to Pennsylvania

Background:
    I am married and we have a son. I am a USMC veteran. I am a full time police officer in Michigan and I want to move to Pennsylvania, preferably western PA. The goal is to be about half way between Philadelphia and Grand Rapids, MI.
    I have looked up MPOETC and read the info, but in laymans terms, what does that really mean that I have to do to lateral move? Here is the info from MPOETC:

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal...ication/584115

Any experience with this process would be very helpful.
    Also, is there some sort of email subscription that I can become a part of that notifies me of open positions statewide? There is in Michigan and it proved very helpful upon graduation from the academy.
    My next question is about which departments would be a good match for me and my family. Specifically, which are hiring along my timeframe (within 1 year, less is better, more is acceptable), allow portions of the application process to be completed over long distance / via Skype, and which are located around my preferred region.
    We both like Pittsburgh alot, but we are fine with more rural areas as well.
    Thanks in advance for any help that you can provide.
    Last edited by masakari; 07-17-2014, 07:28 PM.

You have to submit a request form to make sure they will accept your academy and also submit a criminal history through the listed portal. Once you are told you qualify you have to pick a date to take a 200 question test (basic academy final exam) it is a common sense questions, never heard of anyone failing.

Townships can have the option of either testing or just hiring. Many hire off of county consortium test.
    Boroughs must test.

Below is a link to get email alerts for PA Chiefs Association for job opening and tests.

http://www.pachiefs.org/page-885645

MPOETC link