300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Philadelphia PD questions.

I am a police officer in the Houston area looking to move back home to the East coast. I am very interested in Philadelphia PD as I like working for a big city. I skimmed through the other post, but didn't find an answer for the few questions I have. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1) How many officers is Philadelphia currently (2014) hiring? Is it only a few slots or is this a very large hiring phase?

2) What is the typical schedule for a patrol officer? Is it 8, 10 or 12 hour shifts? Two or three days off?

3) Is it absolutely mandatory that all officers must live within the city of Philadelphia or can one live in the suburbs?

4) How is overtime? Can one make a decent living 60k + with Philadelphia PD?

5) How difficult is their background process? Are they extremely selective??

6) Is the academy live in or do you go home at the end of the day? How difficult is the academy? I am 34, would I be considered "old?"

7) How intense if FTO?

Thank in advance for any help offered.

Matt

I had just left the city a few months ago, so not much has changed....

1) How many officers is Philadelphia currently (2014) hiring? Is it only a few slots or is this a very large hiring phase?
    They've been pumping out alot of classes the last few years very regularly. Classes of about 50ish. Which isn't alot of guys, but it's
    consistent.
    2) What is the typical schedule for a patrol officer? Is it 8, 10 or 12 hour shifts? Two or three days off?
    Key Word "typical" is 5 on, 2 off, 4 on 2 off with rotating days off and rotating 8a-4p and 4p-12a every two weeks. That is typical.

Last out is steady last out so if your new or want nights, chances are you'll get it with rotating days off. There is also drop back shift,
    steady hours 8p-4 a with rotating days off. 5 squad works two weeks of 6p-2a and then a week of day work, only sundays and