300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clarification on traffic laws.

Looking for some clarification of some vehicle code, maybe some case law to back it up. I'm a rookie in a small department, a lot of what I learn is on the go and by myself.

According to 75 PA C.S. 3368e, timing devices may not be used within 500 feet of a decrease in speed limit. There are exceptions for school and work zones.
    My question is this, if the higher speed limit is 35 and the new, lower one is 25, can I pull over and cite based on the "old" limit of 35. There are many cars that come one way through a speed zone I run that are well in excess of the speed limit of 35. Reading this literally, it sounds like I'm SOL for citing them at all. Until now I only cite when they're coming the other direction and therefore don't have the decrease in speed.

A similar situation... I run speed enforcement on a road which is the border between my jurisdiction and the next one over. The double yellow is the dividing line. I've been told conflicting things from various police officers throughout my education and training. Some say you can cite cars going either direction, in either jurisdiction. Some say you can only cite on the one side of the road while they're in your jurisdiction. In your opinion which is correct?

I'd be happy to take PMs if someone wants to offer input without putting it for the public to see.
    West Chester University B.S. Criminal Justice: May 2009
    Delaware County Community College Municipal Police Academy Class 126: July-Dec 2009
    Full time Patrolman in Chester County, PA.

The easiest solution to your speed limit sign question is to move somewhere else. Or, you could always just cite them and let them fight it in court (OVERTIME) and let the judge decide. But the way I read it you shouldn't be using any speed timing devices 500 ft in front of or behind the 25mph sign.