300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• single mother rookies

Any single mothers care to post their experience from the begining of the recruit process to end?

I am not a single mother or female for that matter but I know this: You will be viewed as a Cadet while in the academy and no one will care whether you have a child or not. Your contact with family & friends will be limited for your duration at the academy. Your contact with family and friends will be limited while on FTO. Your contact with family and friends will be limited after FTO due to the schedule, which is like no other. If you want it bad enough and have a good support network in place than you will be able to provide an above average standard of living for yourself and child(children) both pre and post employment. Good luck.

Comment

Well said tp - I worked as a CO and that is exactly what it was like especially when working mandatory doubles! I am a single mother Honda, and I am starting the Academy in June - it is something that I have wanted for over 15yrs, my kids have seen me struggle trying to make this dream a reality, and it is finally starting to form. It definitely shows that if you want something bad enough and work hard enough you can accomplish anything you set your mind to. Good Luck!

Comment

(not a s/m)You will have some night training while in the Police Academy. They normally give you notice to when that training will be. You may want to find a good reliable sitter and emergency person for your children to call or stay with. You won't be able to have your cell on your person during your training.