Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Frustrated and Confused...need assistance!

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frustrated and Confused...need assistance!

I posted here before about a similar topic. I am currently a police officer with the NYPD and have 6 years experience. I want to relocate to Ohio and get a LE job over there. The police depts i applied to including cinncinnatti police say i need an OPOTA certificate if I want to do a lateral transfer. I called the ohio peace officer training commission and they told me I would get a certificate when I got the job and they would sit down with me and compare the training ive had in the NYPD to their standards.

So my questions are

1. If I were to do the OPOTA on my own, how long would it take and how much money would it be (i've tried looking this up, sorry if it's in an obvious place on the internet)

2. With my current experience, would I need to do any hours for the OPOTA?

3.If i get the certificate when i get the job, how am i suppose to send it to them for the application!?

Thank you in advance for the help. I feel like im getting the run around when i'm trying to find out information.

I don't have a specific answer for your question, but you may want to call and talk to someone at OPOTA. I would think that they would be able to give you some direction on your situation. Their number is online. Good luck with the transfer.

Comment

Went through exactly what you're experiencing about ten years ago. The long and short of it is this:

-OPOTA will NOT evaluate any of your training/certifications/peace officer certificate until you get a job and/or an agency to sponsor you. This didn't, and still doesn't, make any sense to me; when I asked the person I was talking to if it made any sense to them, I was told it's how Ohio code is written, and then silence (which validated in my mind that it didn't make any sense to them either).