Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can anyone help me with a few spare cents in advice?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can anyone help me with a few spare cents in advice?

I am a British Police Officer and I am currently in the middle of applying for a career break with my current Constabulary in order to move to the USA and marry my USC Fiance. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio.

I am hoping to try and make use of the skills I have learnt and currently have from this role in order to gain employment whilst in the USA. I was just wondering if there are any conditions you have to meet in order to be employed as a Civillian, Support or Administrative member of staff within Ohio, particularly in the Cincinnati area. And also what kind of roles exist within this area???

Any advice would be useful as though I know I cannot actively look for work until I have the right to do so through various visa applications it would be nice to know where to look first.

Thank you

Danger - Warning

Once you move to the colonies and become uncivilized, you can never be civilized again.
    Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

As long as you are legal to be employed you should be fine. Most agencies also usually require you have an in State driver's license.

My department (in Central Ohio) actually has an Officer who is not a US Citizen, but have lived in the States for years. I have also met Officers from other agencies with very noticeable British accents, I can't speak for how long they lived in the States but clearly they didn't grow up here and were able to do whatever was needed to get employed by a LE agency.