Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanting to get into the Law Enforcement field in Ohio

Hey all.

New member here, looking for advice and answers.

I was in the Army (Engineer Corps) fresh out of highschool, and got a medical discharge and ever since I've wanted to do something more than just work in a warehouse or whatever. I want to do something that makes a difference, so Im very interested in becoming a LEO.

So I have a few questions,
    I'm wanting to get a CJ degree (I have an engineering degree but that relates very very little to law enforcement) and afterwards go through the academy.
    I know that having a degree really looks good when a department is looking at you, but would it be ok to go through the academy first, and then work on my degree while applying to different departments? Or would it be better to be done with the schooling first?

Also, my local departments (Cincinnati area) are pretty much all laying off, so does anyone know of a department near by who is hiring? I'm not sure about the Dayton area.

Also, what other professions, besides being an officer, that CJ degrees are good for, that you would suggest as an alternative?

I would think that an engineering degree would be favorable for you, it proves that you can think logically and solve problems.

Since you have a degree and military experience, you might want to consider Federal Law Enforcement as an option. (usajobs.gov)
    The only time you can have too much ammunition is when you're swimming or on fire

Comment