300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dickinson, Mountrail co, Burke Co and Killdeer

Okay guys. AKPOPO and CJS, you guys have been very helpful so far. Please give your input here and of course, if there are anyone else that has any feedback, i'd love to hear it.

For those of you who don't know, I am a FT LE officer in Texas. My fiance and I really want to make the move to ND.

I have made contact with Watford PD, Dickinson, Killdeer, Mountrail Co and Burke Co. The big thing that I am getting used to is the hiring processes. In TX, you must complete a written exam, PAT test, oral board, background check. If you make it this far, then you must pass a psychological exam, Polygraph, Psych, Medical and drug test. It takes 3-6 months to get thru the process. The depts in TX who only do interviews are normally depts that you don't want to go to or they hire officers who've been fired etc...
    However, every dept I have called in ND does no testing whatsoever. It's just an interview and then a Psych. Some don't even make you complete an application. Just send in your resume with references. Our application in TX ranges from 30-50+ pages. In ND its like 2-4 pages and they do your entire background in a week or so. The only depts that test like TX is Bizmark, Minot, Grand Forks and the highway patrol. I actually had one chief tell me over the phone that from the 1.5 hours we talked, he knew I would be a good fit and pretty much told me I have the job if I come apply and interview. And this is a dept that starting pay is over 53K per year with great benefits.

I want to work in one of these oil areas because the officers make so much money. Watford City said it's no problem to make 75K per year. I understand the cost of living is high, but these depts have free or discounted housing for officers so cost of living is really no big deal. My fiance can get great work as well. Leasing apts pays 22.00 an hour so does 911 dispatching.