Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Watford City and other NW agencies

Hello all:

I am an Officer in Texas. I am looking at relocating to the Watford City PD. I spent 1.5 hours on the phone with the Chief and he seems like a great guy trying to lead a developing and progressive agency.

Can anyone give me any info regarding them. Right now I work in a town of 1,800 people with 0 places to eat and 2 gas stations. I am also 1.5 hours away from a good size town that offers everything. So the fact that it is rural, doesn't bother me.

My biggest concern is whether or not I can handle the cold, snow and ice. I have never lived in that before.

If anyone wants to chime in on some other departments in the area, please feel free.

Thank you all to reply.

Bankerboy2646,

I currently work for an SO as a Deputy not far from Watford City. WC is right in the middle of the oil patch so it's fairly busy there. As you probably already learned from talking with the Chief, they do got take home patrol vehicles fully loaded. Not sure of their exact pay but I believe it's in the mid to high 50's with plenty of OT. Fairly decent equipment as well from what I know.

Now here's the kicker. The cost of living in the oil patch is ridiculously high. It's not uncommon to find apartment units going between $1800 and $3500 a month. No lie. Where I live and work they have housing options available, so it's not too terribly bad.

Don't limit yourself to just WC. There's also Mckenzie County SO which WC is the county seat. There's Williston and Williams County to the north of WC which are also oil patch areas. There's Dickinson and Stark County to the southeast of WC as well that you might want to check out.