Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Questions about small town Sheriff's Departments in ND...

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about small town Sheriff's Departments in ND...

Hello everyone. I was wondering if anyone has worked for a small town Sheriff's office in ND and could shed some insight on if it's worth working at these places or not. What are some differences in that of a small town deputy compared to a city cop in lets say Bismarck or Williston for example? Is the hiring process/background check similar to that of bigger departments? I will eventually be applying for my first law enforcement type job and was wondering what might be some good places to start vs. the not so good ones? I have an AA degree in CJ from Bismarck State College, but I haven't been through an academy yet. Also, can I get some of your opinions on whether or not it would be worth it to self-sponsor myself and then apply or try and get hired somewhere where they would pay me to go to the academy? To me, it seems like getting hired first and then sent to the academy is the most feasible solution. What are some of the routes you guys have taken while trying to land that first job?

Any input is greatly appreciated!

Originally posted by stecha90 View Post